Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) If the agency decides to grant compensation, it shall determine the net uncompensated loss payable to the claimant by computing the total amount of compensable losses payable to the claimant and subtracting the total amount of any compensation received by the claimant for the same injury or damage from other sources including, but not limited to, all forms of insurance and Social Security and any emergency award made by the agency. The agency shall pay compensation in the amount of the net uncompensated loss, provided that no claimant may receive more than $250,000. In the case of a death, the total amount paid to all persons on behalf of the claimant may not exceed $250,000.

(b) Compensation from the fund may be awarded in a lump sum or in installments at the discretion of the agency.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes