Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

65B.28 ACCIDENT PREVENTION COURSE PREMIUM REDUCTIONS.

Subdivision 1.Required reduction.

An insurer must provide an appropriate premium reduction of at least ten percent on its policies of private passenger vehicle insurance, as defined in section 65B.001, subdivision 2, issued, delivered, or renewed in this state, to insureds 55 years old and older who successfully complete an accident prevention course or refresher course established under subdivisions 2 and 3.

Subd. 2.Accident prevention course; rules.

The commissioner of public safety shall adopt rules establishing and regulating a motor vehicle accident prevention course for persons 55 years old and older. The rules must, at a minimum, include provisions:

(1) establishing curriculum requirements;

(2) establishing the number of hours required for successful completion of the course; and

(3) providing for the issuance of a course completion certification and requiring its submission to an insured as evidence of completion of the course.

Subd. 3.Refresher course.

The Department of Public Safety, in consultation with other traffic safety and medical professionals, may establish a refresher course for persons who have completed the original course under subdivision 2. The refresher course shall be no more than four hours, and based on the curriculum established under subdivision 2. The Department of Public Safety shall establish criteria for and approve training agencies or organizations authorized to conduct the refresher course.

Subd. 4.Completion certificate.

A person 55 years old and older may retake the original course or take the refresher course every three years and receive a course completion certificate to remain eligible for the premium reduction in subdivision 1. A person 58 years old and older who successfully completes a retaking of the original course or a refresher course more than three years from the date the person last was eligible for the premium reduction in subdivision 1 is entitled to reinstatement of this eligibility. The Department of Public Safety shall provide criteria for the issuance of the course completion certificates.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569