Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.71 RIOT.
    Subdivision 1. Riot first degree. When three or more persons assembled disturb the public
peace by an intentional act or threat of unlawful force or violence to person or property and a
death results, and one of the persons is armed with a dangerous weapon, that person is guilty of
riot first degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment
of a fine of not more than $35,000, or both.
    Subd. 2. Riot second degree. When three or more persons assembled disturb the public
peace by an intentional act or threat of unlawful force or violence to person or property, each
participant who is armed with a dangerous weapon or knows that any other participant is armed
with a dangerous weapon is guilty of riot second degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.
    Subd. 3. Riot third degree. When three or more persons assembled disturb the public peace
by an intentional act or threat of unlawful force or violence to person or property, each participant
therein is guilty of riot third degree and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one
year or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.
History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.71; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 11; 1986 c 444; 1993 c 326 art 4 s 33

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569