Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Authenticate

Pdf

2014 Minnesota Statutes

609.6855 SALE OF NICOTINE DELIVERY PRODUCTS TO CHILDREN.

Subdivision 1.Penalty to sell.

(a) Whoever sells to a person under the age of 18 years a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for human consumption, or any part of such a product, that is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, is guilty of a misdemeanor for the first violation. Whoever violates this subdivision a subsequent time within five years of a previous conviction under this subdivision is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this subdivision if the defendant proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith relied on proof of age as described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for human consumption, or any part of such a product, that is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, may be sold to persons under the age of 18 if the product has been approved or otherwise certified for legal sale by the United States Food and Drug Administration for tobacco use cessation, harm reduction, or for other medical purposes, and is being marketed and sold solely for that approved purpose.

Subd. 2.Other offense.

A person under the age of 18 years who purchases or attempts to purchase a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for human consumption, or any part of such a product, that is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, and who uses a driver's license, permit, Minnesota identification card, or any type of false identification to misrepresent the person's age, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 3.Petty misdemeanor.

Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions 1 and 2, whoever is under the age of 18 years and possesses, purchases, or attempts to purchase a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for human consumption, or any part of such a product, that is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, is guilty of a petty misdemeanor.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569