Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

609.651 STATE LOTTERY FRAUD.

Subdivision 1.Felony.

A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced under subdivision 4 if the person does any of the following with intent to defraud the State Lottery:

(1) alters or counterfeits a state lottery ticket;

(2) knowingly presents an altered or counterfeited state lottery ticket for payment;

(3) knowingly transfers an altered or counterfeited state lottery ticket to another person; or

(4) otherwise claims a lottery prize by means of fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.

Subd. 2.Computer access.

A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced under subdivision 4 if the person:

(1) obtains access to a computer database maintained by the director without the specific authorization of the director;

(2) obtains access to a computer database maintained by a person under contract with the director to maintain the database without the specific authorization of the director and the person maintaining the database.

Subd. 3.False statements.

A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced under subdivision 4 if the person:

(1) makes a materially false or misleading statement, or a material omission, in a record required to be submitted under chapter 349A; or

(2) makes a materially false or misleading statement, or a material omission, in information submitted to the director of the State Lottery in a lottery retailer's application or a document related to a bid.

Subd. 4.Penalty.

(a) A person who violates subdivision 1 or 2 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000, or both.

(b) A person who violates subdivision 1 or 2 and defrauds the State Lottery of $35,000 or more may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $100,000, or both.

(c) A person who violates subdivision 3 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $25,000, or both.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569