Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2008 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.576 NEGLIGENT FIRES; DANGEROUS SMOKING.

Subdivision 1.Negligent fire resulting in injury or property damage.

Whoever is grossly negligent in causing a fire to burn or get out of control thereby causing damage or injury to another, and as a result of this:

(1) a human being is injured and great bodily harm incurred, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both;

(2) a human being is injured and bodily harm incurred, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or

(3) property of another is injured, thereby, is guilty of a crime and may be sentenced as follows:

(i) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both, if the value of the property damage is under $300;

(ii) to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both, if the value of the property damaged is at least $300 but is less than $2,500; or

(iii) to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both, if the value of the property damaged is $2,500 or more.

Subd. 2.Dangerous smoking.

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if the person smokes in the presence of explosives or inflammable materials. If a person violates this subdivision and knows that doing so creates a risk of death or bodily harm or serious property damage, the person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569