Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.526 PRECIOUS METAL AND SCRAP METAL DEALERS; RECEIVING STOLEN
PROPERTY.
    Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings
given:
    (1) "precious metal dealer" has the meaning given in section 325F.731, subdivision 2; and
    (2) "scrap metal dealer" has the meaning given in section 325E.21, subdivision 1.
    Subd. 2. Crime described. Any precious metal dealer or scrap metal dealer or any person
employed by a dealer, who receives, possesses, transfers, buys, or conceals any stolen property
or property obtained by robbery, knowing or having reason to know the property was stolen or
obtained by robbery, may be sentenced as follows:
    (1) if the value of the property received, bought, or concealed is $1,000 or more, to
imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000, or
both;
    (2) if the value of the property received, bought, or concealed is less than $1,000 but more
than $500, to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment of a fine of not more
than $25,000, or both;
    (3) if the value of the property received, bought, or concealed is $500 or less, to imprisonment
for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than $1,000, or both.
    Any person convicted of violating this section a second or subsequent time within a period of
one year may be sentenced as provided in clause (1).
History: 1989 c 290 art 7 s 6; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 72; 2007 c 54 art 2 s 10

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569