Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2007 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.27 COERCION.
    Subdivision 1. Acts constituting. Whoever orally or in writing makes any of the following
threats and thereby causes another against the other's will to do any act or forbear doing a lawful
act is guilty of coercion and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 2:
(1) a threat to unlawfully inflict bodily harm upon, or hold in confinement, the person
threatened or another, when robbery or attempt to rob is not committed thereby; or
(2) a threat to unlawfully inflict damage to the property of the person threatened or another; or
(3) a threat to unlawfully injure a trade, business, profession, or calling; or
(4) a threat to expose a secret or deformity, publish a defamatory statement, or otherwise to
expose any person to disgrace or ridicule; or
(5) a threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge, whether true or false; provided,
that a warning of the consequences of a future violation of law given in good faith by a peace
officer or prosecuting attorney to any person shall not be deemed a threat for the purposes
of this section.
    Subd. 2. Sentence. Whoever violates subdivision 1 may be sentenced as follows:
(1) to imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than
$1,000, or both if neither the pecuniary gain received by the violator nor the loss suffered by the
person threatened or another as a result of the threat exceeds $300, or the benefits received or
harm sustained are not susceptible of pecuniary measurement; or
(2) to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than
$10,000, or both, if such pecuniary gain or loss is more than $300 but less than $2,500; or
(3) to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than
$20,000, or both, if such pecuniary gain or loss is $2,500, or more.
History: 1963 c 753 art 1 s 609.27; 1971 c 23 s 40; 1977 c 355 s 7; 1983 c 359 s 87; 1984 c
628 art 3 s 11; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 72

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569