Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2006 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

609.268 INJURY OR DEATH OF AN UNBORN CHILD IN COMMISSION OF CRIME.
    Subdivision 1. Death of an unborn child. Whoever, in the commission of a felony or
in a violation of section 609.224, 609.2242, 609.23, 609.231, 609.2325, or 609.233, causes
the death of an unborn child is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for
not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine not more than $30,000, or both. As used in this
subdivision, "felony" does not include a violation of sections 609.185 to 609.21, 609.221 to
609.2231, or 609.2661 to 609.2665.
    Subd. 2. Injury to an unborn child. Whoever, in the commission of a felony or in a
violation of section 609.23, 609.231, 609.2325 or 609.233, causes great or substantial bodily harm
to an unborn child who is subsequently born alive, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000,
or both. As used in this subdivision, "felony" does not include a violation of sections 609.21,
609.221 to 609.2231, or 609.267 to 609.2672.
History: 1986 c 388 s 14; 1995 c 229 art 4 s 17,18; 1995 c 259 art 3 s 16

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569