Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

2004 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.

469.340 Repayment of tax benefits.

Subdivision 1. Repayment obligation. A business must repay the amount of the tax reduction listed in section 469.336 and any refunds under sections 469.338 and 469.339 in excess of tax liability, received during the two years immediately before it ceased to operate in the zone, if the business:

(1) received tax reductions authorized by section 469.336; and

(2)(i) did not meet the goals specified in an agreement entered into with the applicant that states any obligation the qualified business must fulfill in order to be eligible for tax benefits. The commissioner may extend for up to one year the period for meeting any goals provided in an agreement. The applicant may extend the period for meeting other goals by documenting in writing the reason for the extension and attaching a copy of the document to its next annual report to the commissioner; or

(ii) ceased to operate its facility located within the biotechnology and health sciences industry zone or otherwise ceases to be or is not a qualified business.

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.

(b) "Business" means any person who received tax benefits enumerated in section 469.336.

(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of revenue.

Subd. 3. Disposition or repayment. The repayment must be paid to the state to the extent it represents a state tax reduction and to the county to the extent it represents a property tax reduction. Any amount repaid to the state must be deposited in the general fund. Any amount repaid to the county for the property tax exemption must be distributed to the local governments with authority to levy taxes in the zone in the same manner provided for distribution of payment of delinquent property taxes. Any repayment of local sales taxes must be repaid to the city or county imposing the local sales tax.

Subd. 4. Repayment procedures. (a) For the repayment of taxes imposed under chapter 290 or 297A or local taxes collected pursuant to section 297A.99, a business must file an amended return with the commissioner of revenue and pay any taxes required to be repaid within 30 days after ceasing to do business in the zone. The amount required to be repaid is determined by calculating the tax for the period or periods for which repayment is required without regard to the exemptions and credits allowed under section 469.336.

(b) For the repayment of property taxes, the county auditor shall prepare a tax statement for the business, applying the applicable tax extension rates for each payable year and provide a copy to the business. The business must pay the taxes to the county treasurer within 30 days after receipt of the tax statement. The taxpayer may appeal the valuation and determination of the property tax to the Tax Court within 30 days after receipt of the tax statement.

(c) The provisions of chapters 270 and 289A relating to the commissioner's authority to audit, assess, and collect the tax and to hear appeals are applicable to the repayment required under paragraph (a). The commissioner may impose civil penalties as provided in chapter 289A, and the additional tax and penalties are subject to interest at the rate provided in section 270.75, from 30 days after ceasing to do business in the biotechnology and health sciences industry zone until the date the tax is paid.

(d) If a property tax is not repaid under paragraph (b), the county treasurer shall add the amount required to be repaid to the property taxes assessed against the property for payment in the year following the year in which the treasurer discovers that the business ceased to operate in the biotechnology and health sciences industry zone.

(e) For determining the tax required to be repaid, a tax reduction is deemed to have been received on the date that the tax would have been due if the taxpayer had not been entitled to the exemption, or on the date a refund was issued for a refundable credit.

(f) The commissioner may assess the repayment of taxes under paragraph (c) any time within two years after the business ceases to operate in the biotechnology and health sciences industry zone, or within any period of limitations for the assessment of tax under section 289A.38, whichever period is later.

Subd. 5. Waiver authority. The commissioner may waive all or part of a repayment, if the commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of employment and economic development and appropriate officials from the local government units in which the business is located, determines that requiring repayment of the tax is not in the best interest of the state or the local government units and the business ceased operating as a result of circumstances beyond its control including, but not limited to:

(1) a natural disaster;

(2) unforeseen industry trends; or

(3) loss of a major supplier or customer.

HIST: 1Sp2003 c 4 s 1; 1Sp2003 c 21 art 2 s 19

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569