MN Legislature

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Authenticate

Pdf

2015 Minnesota Statutes

341.30 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1.Licensure; individuals.

All referees, judges, promoters, trainers, ring announcers, timekeepers, ringside physicians, combatants, managers, and seconds are required to be licensed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall not permit any of these persons to participate in any matter with any combative sport contest unless the commissioner has first issued the person a license.

Subd. 2.Entity licensure.

Before participating in the holding, promoting, or conducting of any combative sport contest, a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other business entity organized and existing under law shall obtain a license from the commissioner and must be authorized to do business under the laws of this state.

Subd. 3.Background investigation.

The commissioner may require referees, judges, promoters, and combatants to furnish fingerprints and background information under commissioner rules before licensure. The commissioner shall charge a fee for receiving fingerprints and background information in an amount determined by the commissioner. The commissioner may require referees, judges, promoters, and combatants to furnish fingerprints and background information before license renewal. The fee may include a reasonable charge for expenses incurred by the commissioner or the Department of Public Safety. For this purpose, the commissioner and the Department of Public Safety may enter into an interagency agreement.

Subd. 4.Prelicensure requirements.

(a) Before the commissioner issues a promoter's license to an individual, corporation, or other business entity, the applicant shall, a minimum of six weeks before the combative sport contest is scheduled to occur, complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports Web site or on forms furnished or approved by the commissioner and shall:

(1) provide the commissioner with a copy of any agreement between a combatant and the applicant that binds the applicant to pay the combatant a certain fixed fee or percentage of the gate receipts;

(2) show on the licensing application the owner or owners of the applicant entity and the percentage of interest held by each owner holding a 25 percent or more interest in the applicant;

(3) provide the commissioner with a copy of the latest financial statement of the applicant;

(4) provide the commissioner with a copy or other proof acceptable to the commissioner of the insurance contract or policy required by this chapter;

(5) provide proof, where applicable, of authorization to do business in the state of Minnesota; and

(6) deposit with the commissioner a cash bond or surety bond in an amount set by the commissioner, which must not be less than $10,000. The bond shall be executed in favor of this state and shall be conditioned on the faithful performance by the promoter of the promoter's obligations under this chapter and the rules adopted under it.

(b) Before the commissioner issues a license to a combatant, the applicant shall:

(1) submit to the commissioner the results of a current medical examination on forms furnished or approved by the commissioner. The medical examination must include an ophthalmological and neurological examination, and documentation of test results for HBV, HCV, and HIV, and any other blood test as the commissioner by rule may require. The ophthalmological examination must be designed to detect any retinal defects or other damage or condition of the eye that could be aggravated by combative sports. The neurological examination must include an electroencephalogram or medically superior test if the combatant has been knocked unconscious in a previous contest. The commissioner may also order an electroencephalogram or other appropriate neurological or physical examination before any contest if it determines that the examination is desirable to protect the health of the combatant. The commissioner shall not issue a license to an applicant submitting positive test results for HBV, HCV, or HIV;

(2) complete a licensing application on the Office of Combative Sports Web site or on forms furnished or approved by the commissioner; and

(3) provide proof that the applicant is 18 years of age. Acceptable proof is a photo driver's license, state photo identification card, passport, or birth certificate combined with additional photo identification.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569