MN Legislature

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Authenticate

Pdf

2016 Minnesota Statutes

Resources

Topics

Recent History

245A.02 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1.Scope.

The terms used in this chapter have the meanings given them in this section.

Subd. 2.Adult.

"Adult" means a person who is 18 years old or older and who:

(1) has a mental illness, a developmental disability, a physical disability, or a functional impairment; or

(2) is chemically dependent or abuses chemicals.

Subd. 2a.Adult day care or family adult day services.

"Adult day care," "adult day services," and "family adult day services" mean a program operating less than 24 hours per day that provides functionally impaired adults with an individualized and coordinated set of services including health services, social services, and nutritional services that are directed at maintaining or improving the participants' capabilities for self-care. Adult day care, adult day services, and family adult day services do not include programs where adults gather or congregate primarily for purposes of socialization, education, supervision, caregiver respite, religious expression, exercise, or nutritious meals.

Subd. 2b.Annual or annually.

"Annual" or "annually" means prior to or within the same month of the subsequent calendar year.

Subd. 3.Applicant.

"Applicant" means an individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, controlling individual, or other organization that has applied for licensure under this chapter and the rules of the commissioner.

Subd. 3a.Certification.

"Certification" means the commissioner's written authorization for a license holder licensed by the commissioner of human services or the commissioner of corrections to serve children in a residential program and provide specialized services based on certification standards in Minnesota Rules. The term "certification" and its derivatives have the same meaning and may be substituted for the term "licensure" and its derivatives in this chapter.

Subd. 4.Child.

"Child" means a person who has not reached age 18.

Subd. 5.Commissioner.

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services or the commissioner's designated representative including county agencies and private agencies.

Subd. 5a.Controlling individual.

"Controlling individual" means a public body, governmental agency, business entity, officer, owner, or managerial official whose responsibilities include the direction of the management or policies of a program. For purposes of this subdivision, owner means an individual who has direct or indirect ownership interest in a corporation, partnership, or other business association issued a license under this chapter. For purposes of this subdivision, managerial official means those individuals who have the decision-making authority related to the operation of the program, and the responsibility for the ongoing management of or direction of the policies, services, or employees of the program. A site director who has no ownership interest in the program is not considered to be a managerial official for purposes of this definition. Controlling individual does not include:

(1) a bank, savings bank, trust company, savings association, credit union, industrial loan and thrift company, investment banking firm, or insurance company unless the entity operates a program directly or through a subsidiary;

(2) an individual who is a state or federal official, or state or federal employee, or a member or employee of the governing body of a political subdivision of the state or federal government that operates one or more programs, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program, receives remuneration from the program, or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision;

(3) an individual who owns less than five percent of the outstanding common shares of a corporation:

(i) whose securities are exempt under section 80A.45, clause (6); or

(ii) whose transactions are exempt under section 80A.46, clause (2); or

(4) an individual who is a member of an organization exempt from taxation under section 290.05, unless the individual is also an officer, owner, or managerial official of the program or owns any of the beneficial interests not excluded in this subdivision. This clause does not exclude from the definition of controlling individual an organization that is exempt from taxation.

Subd. 6.County agency.

"County agency" means the agency designated by the county board of commissioners, human service boards, local social services agencies or multicounty local social services agencies, or departments where those have been established under the law.

Subd. 6a.Drop-in child care program.

"Drop-in child care program" means a nonresidential program of child care in which children participate on a onetime only or occasional basis up to a maximum of 90 hours per child, per month. A drop-in child care program must be licensed under Minnesota Rules governing child care centers. A drop-in child care program must meet one of the following requirements to qualify for the rule exemptions specified in section 245A.14, subdivision 6:

(1) the drop-in child care program operates in a child care center which houses no child care program except the drop-in child care program;

(2) the drop-in child care program operates in the same child care center but not during the same hours as a regularly scheduled ongoing child care program with a stable enrollment; or

(3) the drop-in child care program operates in a child care center at the same time as a regularly scheduled ongoing child care program with a stable enrollment but the program's activities, except for bathroom use and outdoor play, are conducted separately from each other.

Subd. 6b.Experience.

For purposes of child care centers, "experience" includes paid or unpaid employment serving children as a teacher, assistant teacher, aide, or a student intern in a licensed child care center, in a public or nonpublic school, or in a program licensed as a family day care or group family day care provider.

Subd. 6c.Foster care for adults.

"Foster care for adults" means a program operating 24 hours a day that provides functionally impaired adults with food, lodging, protection, supervision, and household services in a residence, in addition to services according to the individual service plans under Minnesota Rules, part 9555.5105, subpart 18.

Subd. 7.Functional impairment.

For the purposes of adult day care, adult day services, family adult day services, or adult foster care, "functional impairment" means:

(1) a condition that is characterized by substantial difficulty in carrying out one or more of the essential major activities of daily living, such as caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, working; or

(2) a disorder of thought or mood that significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of life and that requires support to maintain independence in the community.

Subd. 7a.HIV minimum standards.

"HIV minimum standards" means those items approved by the department and contained in the HIV-1 Guidelines for chemical dependency treatment and care programs in Minnesota including HIV education to clients, completion of HIV training by all new and existing staff, provision for referral to individual HIV counseling and services for all clients, and the implementation of written policies and procedures for working with HIV-infected clients.

Subd. 7b.

[Repealed, 2014 c 262 art 5 s 7]

Subd. 8.License.

"License" means a certificate issued by the commissioner authorizing the license holder to provide a specified program for a specified period of time and in accordance with the terms of the license and the rules of the commissioner.

Subd. 9.License holder.

"License holder" means an individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other organization that is legally responsible for the operation of the program, has been granted a license by the commissioner under this chapter or chapter 245D and the rules of the commissioner, and is a controlling individual.

Subd. 10.Nonresidential program.

"Nonresidential program" means care, supervision, rehabilitation, training or habilitation of a person provided outside the person's own home and provided for fewer than 24 hours a day, including adult day care programs; and chemical dependency or chemical abuse programs that are located in a nursing home or hospital and receive public funds for providing chemical abuse or chemical dependency treatment services under chapter 254B. Nonresidential programs include home and community-based services for persons with disabilities or persons age 65 and older that are provided in or outside of a person's own home under chapter 245D.

Subd. 10a.Parent cooperative.

"Parent cooperative" means a nonprofit group child care program that is governed by a board that meets regularly and makes all continuing operational decisions about the program. At least 70 percent of the board membership must be parent-users of the program.

Subd. 11.Person.

"Person" means a child or adult as defined in subdivisions 2 and 4.

Subd. 12.Private agency.

"Private agency" means an individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association or other organization, other than a county agency, or a court with jurisdiction, that places persons who cannot remain in their own homes in residential programs, foster care, or adoptive homes.

Subd. 13.Individual who is related.

"Individual who is related" means a spouse, a parent, a birth or adopted child or stepchild, a stepparent, a stepbrother, a stepsister, a niece, a nephew, an adoptive parent, a grandparent, a sibling, an aunt, an uncle, or a legal guardian.

Subd. 14.Residential program.

"Residential program" means a program that provides 24-hour-a-day care, supervision, food, lodging, rehabilitation, training, education, habilitation, or treatment outside a person's own home, including a program in an intermediate care facility for four or more persons with developmental disabilities; and chemical dependency or chemical abuse programs that are located in a hospital or nursing home and receive public funds for providing chemical abuse or chemical dependency treatment services under chapter 254B. Residential programs include home and community-based services for persons with disabilities or persons age 65 and older that are provided in or outside of a person's own home under chapter 245D.

Subd. 15.Respite care services.

"Respite care services" means temporary services provided to a person due to the absence or need for relief of the primary caregiver, the person's family member, or legal representative who is the primary caregiver and principally responsible for the care and supervision of the person. Respite care services are those that provide the level of supervision and care that is necessary to ensure the health and safety of the person. Respite care services do not include services that are specifically directed toward the training and habilitation of the person.

Subd. 16.School-age child.

"School-age child," for programs licensed or required to be licensed as a child care center, means a child who is at least of sufficient age to have attended the first day of kindergarten, or is eligible to enter kindergarten within the next four months, but is younger than 13 years of age.

Subd. 17.School-age child care program.

"School-age child care program" means a program licensed or required to be licensed as a child care center, serving more than ten children with the primary purpose of providing child care for school age children.

Subd. 18.Supervision.

For purposes of child care centers, "supervision" means when a program staff person is within sight and hearing of a child at all times so that the program staff can intervene to protect the health and safety of the child. When an infant is placed in a crib room to sleep, supervision occurs when a staff person is within sight or hearing of the infant. When supervision of a crib room is provided by sight or hearing, the center must have a plan to address the other supervision component.

Subd. 19.Family day care and group family day care child age classifications.

(a) For the purposes of family day care and group family day care licensing under this chapter, the following terms have the meanings given them in this subdivision.

(b) "Newborn" means a child between birth and six weeks old.

(c) "Infant" means a child who is at least six weeks old but less than 12 months old.

(d) "Toddler" means a child who is at least 12 months old but less than 24 months old, except that for purposes of specialized infant and toddler family and group family day care, "toddler" means a child who is at least 12 months old but less than 30 months old.

(e) "Preschooler" means a child who is at least 24 months old up to school age.

(f) "School age" means a child who is at least five years of age, but is younger than 11 years of age.

Subd. 20.Weekly.

"Weekly" means at least once every calendar week, for the purposes of chemical dependency treatment programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6405 to 9530.6505.

Subd. 21.Monthly.

"Monthly" means at least once every calendar month, for the purposes of chemical dependency treatment programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6405 to 9530.6505.

Subd. 22.Quarterly.

"Quarterly" means at least every 90 calendar days, for the purposes of chemical dependency treatment programs licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6405 to 9530.6505.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569