This is a historical version of this statute section. Also view the most recent published version.
183.545 Fees for inspection.
Subdivision 1. Fee amount; vessels operated on inland waters. The fees for the inspection of the hull, boiler, machinery, and equipments of vessels operated on inland waters and that carry passengers for hire are as follows:
(1) annual operating permit and safety inspections shall be $200; and
(2) other inspections, including dry-dock inspections, boat stability tests, and plan reviews, are billed at the hourly rate set in subdivision 3a.
Subd. 2. Fee amounts; masters. The license and application fee for a master's license is $50, or $20 if the applicant possesses a valid, unlimited, current United States Coast Guard master's license. The annual renewal of a master's license is $20. The annual renewal if paid later than 30 days after expiration is $35. The fee for replacement of a current, valid license is $20.
Subd. 3. Boiler and pressure vessel inspection fees. The fees for the annual inspection of boilers and biennial inspection of pressure vessels are as follows:
(1) boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, $55;
(2) boiler accessible for internal inspection, $55;
(3) boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet heating surface shall be billed at the hourly rate set in subdivision 3a;
(4) boiler accessible for internal inspection requiring one-half day or more of inspection time shall be billed at the hourly rate set in subdivision 3a;
(5) pressure vessel for internal inspection via manhole, $35; and
(6) pressure vessel inaccessible for internal inspection, $35.
Subd. 3a. Hourly rate. The hourly rate for an inspection not set elsewhere in this chapter is $80 per hour. Inspection time includes all time related to the inspection. Travel time, billed at the hourly rate, and travel expenses shall be billed for shop inspections, triennial audits, boat stability tests, hydrostatic tests of a boiler or pressure vessel, or any other inspection or consultation requiring a special trip.
Subd. 4. Boiler engineer license fees. For the following licenses, the nonrefundable license and application fee is:
(1) chief engineer's license, $50;
(2) first class engineer's license, $50;
(3) second class engineer's license, $50;
(4) special engineer's license, $20; and
(5) traction or hobby boiler engineer's license, $50.
An engineer's license may be renewed upon application and payment of an annual renewal fee of $20. The annual renewal, if paid later than 30 days after expiration, is $35. The fee for replacement of a current, valid license is $20.
Subd. 5. Repealed, 1987 c 70 s 7
Subd. 6. National board inspectors. The fee for an examination of an applicant for a National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessels Inspectors commission is $100.
Subd. 7. Nuclear endorsement. The fee for each examination of an applicant for a National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessels commissioned inspectors nuclear endorsement is $100.
Subd. 8. Certificate of competency. The fee for issuance of the original state of Minnesota certificate of competency for inspectors is $50. This fee is waived for inspectors who paid the examination fee. The fee for an annual renewal of the state of Minnesota certificate of competency is $35, and is due January 1 of each year. The fee for replacement of a current, valid license is $35.
Subd. 9. Deposit of fees. Fees received under this section must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general fund.
Subd. 10. Boiler and pressure vessel registration fee. The annual registration fee for boilers and pressure vessels in use and required to be inspected per section 183.42 shall be $10 per boiler and pressure vessel.
HIST: 1957 c 503 s 17; 1959 c 586 s 1; 1969 c 1148 s 30-32; 1974 c 427 s 1,2; 1978 c 485 s 1-4; 1982 c 379 s 19; 1983 c 301 s 157; 1Sp1985 c 13 s 296; 1987 c 70 s 5; 1989 c 335 art 4 s 106; 1996 c 305 art 3 s 27; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 4 s 49
Copyright © 2005 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.