MN Legislature

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

The Revisor of Statutes website will be undergoing maintenance from 6pm Thursday September 3rd, to 6am Friday September 4th.

Authenticate

1998 Minnesota Statutes

This is a historical version of this statute chapter. Also view the most recent published version.

171.171 Suspension; illegal purchase of alcohol or tobacco.

The commissioner shall suspend for a period of 90 days the license of a person who:

(1) is under the age of 21 years and is convicted of purchasing or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage in violation of section 340A.503 if the person used a license or Minnesota identification card to purchase or attempt to purchase the alcoholic beverage;

(2) is convicted under section 171.22, subdivision 1, clause (2), or 340A.503, subdivision 2, clause (3), of lending or knowingly permitting a person under the age of 21 years to use the person's license or Minnesota identification card to purchase or attempt to purchase an alcoholic beverage;

(3) is under the age of 18 years and is found by a court to have committed a petty misdemeanor under section 609.685, subdivision 3, if the person used a license or Minnesota identification card to purchase or attempt to purchase the tobacco product; or

(4) is convicted under section 171.22, subdivision 1, clause (2), of lending or knowingly permitting a person under the age of 18 years to use the person's license or Minnesota identification card to purchase or attempt to purchase a tobacco product.

HIST: 1985 c 305 art 1 s 1; 1989 c 301 s 9; 1997 c 227 s 1; 1998 c 388 s 23

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569