2006 Minnesota Statutes
This is a historical version of this statute section.
Also view the most recent published version.
168B.087 OPERATOR'S DEFICIENCY CLAIM; CONSENT TO SALE.
Subdivision 1. Deficiency claim.
(a) The nonpublic impound lot operator has a deficiency
claim against the registered owner of the vehicle for the reasonable costs of services provided in
the towing, storage, and inspection of the vehicle minus the proceeds of the sale or auction.
(b) The claim for storage costs may not exceed the costs of:
(1) 25 days storage, for a vehicle described in section
168B.051, subdivision 1
(2) 55 days storage, for a vehicle described in section
168B.051, subdivision 2
Subd. 2. Implied consent to sale.
A registered owner who fails to claim the impounded
vehicle within the applicable time period allowed under section
is deemed to waive any
right to reclaim the vehicle and consents to the disposal or sale of the vehicle and its contents
and transfer of title.
History: 1995 c 137 s 7
Copyright © 2006 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.