2007 Minnesota Statutes
This is a historical version of this statute section.
Also view the most recent published version.
168.25 VEHICLES USED FOR TESTING.
Subdivision 1. Plates.
The registrar shall, on request, issue to a first-stage manufacturer of
motor vehicles one or more manufacturer test plates that display a general distinguishing number.
The fee for each of the first four plates is $40 per calendar year, of which $25 must be paid to the
registrar and the remaining $15 is payable as sales tax on motor vehicles under section
For each additional plate, the manufacturer shall pay the registrar a fee of $10 and a tax on motor
vehicles under section
of $15 per calendar year. The registrar shall deposit the tax in the
state treasury to be credited under section
Subd. 2. Permitted uses.
A motor vehicle owned by a first-stage manufacturer and bearing
the number plate issued under subdivision 1 may be operated on public streets and highways by
the manufacturer or an employee or agent of the manufacturer, for the purpose of conducting
specialized cold weather testing, and for transportation to and from a bona fide cold weather
History: 1995 c 74 s 2
Copyright © 2007 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All rights reserved.