Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes
[*Add Subtitle/link: Office]

Menu

Revisor of Statutes Menu

Pdf

2013 Minnesota Statutes

152.027 OTHER CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE OFFENSES.

Subdivision 1.Sale of Schedule V controlled substance.

Except as provided in section 152.02, subdivision 6, a person who unlawfully sells one or more mixtures containing a controlled substance classified in Schedule V may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.

Subd. 2.Possession of Schedule V controlled substance.

Except as provided in section 152.02, subdivision 6, a person who unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing a controlled substance classified in Schedule V may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both. The court may order that a person who is convicted under this subdivision and placed on probation be required to take part in a drug education program as specified by the court.

Subd. 3.Possession of marijuana in a motor vehicle.

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor if the person is the owner of a private motor vehicle, or is the driver of the motor vehicle if the owner is not present, and possesses on the person, or knowingly keeps or allows to be kept within the area of the vehicle normally occupied by the driver or passengers, more than 1.4 grams of marijuana. This area of the vehicle does not include the trunk of the motor vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with a trunk, or another area of the vehicle not normally occupied by the driver or passengers if the vehicle is not equipped with a trunk. A utility or glove compartment is deemed to be within the area occupied by the driver and passengers.

Subd. 4.Possession or sale of small amounts of marijuana.

(a) A person who unlawfully sells a small amount of marijuana for no remuneration, or who unlawfully possesses a small amount of marijuana is guilty of a petty misdemeanor and shall be required to participate in a drug education program unless the court enters a written finding that a drug education program is inappropriate. The program must be approved by an area mental health board with a curriculum approved by the state alcohol and drug abuse authority.

(b) A person convicted of an unlawful sale under paragraph (a) who is subsequently convicted of an unlawful sale under paragraph (a) within two years is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be required to participate in a chemical dependency evaluation and treatment if so indicated by the evaluation.

(c) A person who is convicted of a petty misdemeanor under paragraph (a) who willfully and intentionally fails to comply with the sentence imposed, is guilty of a misdemeanor. Compliance with the terms of the sentence imposed before conviction under this paragraph is an absolute defense.

Subd. 5.Sale or possession of salvia divinorum.

(a) A person who unlawfully sells any amount of salvia divinorum or salvinorin A is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(b) A person who unlawfully possesses any amount of salvia divinorum or salvinorin A is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 6.Sale or possession of synthetic cannabinoids.

(a) As used in this subdivision, "synthetic cannabinoid" includes any substance included in section 152.02, subdivision 2, paragraph (h), clause (3).

(b) A person who unlawfully sells a synthetic cannabinoid for no remuneration is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.

(c) A person who unlawfully sells a synthetic cannabinoid is guilty of a felony and if convicted may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

(d) A person who unlawfully possesses any amount of a synthetic cannabinoid is guilty of a misdemeanor.

(e) Notwithstanding any contrary provision in sections 152.021 to 152.025, this subdivision describes the exclusive penalties for the sale and possession of synthetic cannabinoid.

700 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ Phone: (651) 296-2868 ♦ TTY: 1-800-627-3529 ♦ Fax: (651) 296-0569