Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Service provider permit required.

(a) Service providers must apply for and obtain a permit from the commissioner before providing any services described in section 84D.01, subdivision 15a.

(b) Service providers must have a valid permit in possession while providing services described in section 84D.01, subdivision 15a.

(c) Service providers must display the service provider permit decal issued with their permit. The decal must be completely affixed by its own adhesive on the inside of the extreme lower corner of the driver's windshield of the vehicle being operated while providing services described in section 84D.01, subdivision 15a.

Subd. 2.Permit requirements.

(a) Service providers must complete invasive species training provided by the commissioner and pass an examination to qualify for a permit. Service provider permits are valid for three calendar years.

(b) A $50 application and testing fee is required for service provider permit applications.

(c) Persons working for a permittee must satisfactorily complete aquatic invasive species-related training provided by the commissioner, except as provided under paragraph (d).

(d) A person working for and supervised by a permittee is not required to complete the training under paragraph (c) if the water-related equipment or other water-related structures remain on the riparian property owned or controlled by the permittee and are only removed from and placed into the same water of the state.

Subd. 2a.Lake Minnetonka pilot study.

(a) The commissioner may issue an additional permit to service providers to return to Lake Minnetonka water-related equipment with zebra mussels attached after the equipment has been seasonally stored, serviced, or repaired. The permit must include verification and documentation requirements and any other conditions the commissioner deems necessary.

(b) Water-related equipment with zebra mussels attached may be returned only to Lake Minnetonka (DNR Division of Waters number 27-0133) by service providers permitted under subdivision 1.

(c) The service provider's place of business must be within the Lake Minnetonka Conservation District as established according to sections 103B.601 to 103B.645.

(d) A service provider applying for a permit under this subdivision must, if approved for a permit and before the permit is valid, furnish a corporate surety bond in favor of the state for $50,000 payable upon violation of this chapter.

(e) This subdivision expires December 1, 2018.

Subd. 3.Standard for issuing.

The commissioner may issue, deny, modify, or revoke a permit as provided in section 84D.11, subdivision 3.

Subd. 4.Appeal of permit decision.

Permit decisions may be appealed as provided in section 84D.11, subdivision 4.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes