Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.State collections.

The commissioner is responsible for all collections from persons determined to be partially responsible for the cost of care of an eligible person receiving services under Laws 1986, chapter 394, sections 8 to 20. The commissioner may initiate, or request the attorney general to initiate, necessary civil action to recover the unpaid cost of care. The commissioner may collect all third-party payments for chemical dependency services provided under Laws 1986, chapter 394, sections 8 to 20, including private insurance and federal Medicaid and Medicare financial participation. The commissioner shall deposit in a dedicated account a percentage of collections to pay for the cost of operating the chemical dependency consolidated treatment fund invoice processing and vendor payment system, billing, and collections. The remaining receipts must be deposited in the chemical dependency fund.

Subd. 2.Allocation of collections.

(a) The commissioner shall allocate all federal financial participation collections to a special revenue account. The commissioner shall allocate 77.05 percent of patient payments and third-party payments to the special revenue account and 22.95 percent to the county financially responsible for the patient.

(b) For fiscal year 2017 only, the commissioner's allocation to the special revenue account shall be increased from 77.05 percent to 79.8 percent and the county financial responsibility shall be reduced from 22.95 percent to 20.2 percent.

Subd. 3.Payment; denial.

The commissioner shall pay eligible vendors for placements made by local agencies under section 254B.03, subdivision 1, and placements by tribal designated agencies according to section 254B.09. The commissioner may reduce or deny payment of the state share when services are not provided according to the placement criteria established by the commissioner. The commissioner may pay for all or a portion of improper county chemical dependency placements and bill the county for the entire payment made when the placement did not comply with criteria established by the commissioner. The commissioner may make payments to vendors and charge the county 100 percent of the payments if documentation of a county approved placement is received more than 30 working days, exclusive of weekends and holidays, after the date services began. The commissioner shall not pay vendors until private insurance company claims have been settled.

Subd. 4.Reimbursement for institutions for mental diseases.

The commissioner shall not deny reimbursement to a program designated as an institution for mental diseases under United States Code, title 42, section 1396d, due to a reduction in federal financial participation and the addition of new residential beds.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes