Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Surrender plates and credit tax paid.

On transferring a motor vehicle, the transferor shall surrender the registration plates and assign the registration tax paid to the credit of the transferee.

Subd. 2.Ten days to file.

The transferee's rights to the transferred vehicle's registration plates and credit for taxes paid on the vehicle expire after ten days have elapsed from the date of transfer unless: (1) the transfer has been filed as provided under section 168A.10; or (2) the transferee is a dealer licensed under section 168.27, and is complying with section 168A.11.

Subd. 3.Late fee.

In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon the transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall impose a $2 additional fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days.

Subd. 4.Reinstatement fee.

When the commissioner has suspended license plates on a vehicle because the transferee has failed to file the title certificate within 30 days, the transferee shall pay a $10 fee before the registration is reinstated.

Subd. 5.Verification of compliance.

A person does not violate this section or section 168.09, subdivision 1, by reason of suspension, if the person provides verification from the registrar that the title transfer with fees and taxes were filed with the registrar prior to being cited for violating this section or the vehicle was purchased from a licensed Minnesota dealer. The verification of compliance must be presented to the appropriate law enforcement agency within seven days after being charged or to the court on or before the date set for appearance.

Subd. 6.Registration suspension.

The commissioner of public safety may suspend the registration of any owner who violates this section.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes