Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

256L.11 PROVIDER PAYMENT.

Subdivision 1.Medical assistance rate to be used.

Payment to providers under this chapter shall be at the same rates and conditions established for medical assistance, except as provided in this section.

Subd. 2.Payment of certain providers.

Services provided by federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, and facilities of the Indian health service shall be paid for according to the same rates and conditions applicable to the same service provided by providers that are not federally qualified health centers, rural health clinics, or facilities of the Indian health service.

Subd. 2a.Payment rates; services for families and children under the MinnesotaCare health care reform waiver.

Subdivision 2 shall not apply to services provided to families with children who are eligible according to section 256L.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

Subd. 3.Inpatient hospital services.

Inpatient hospital services provided under section 256L.03, subdivision 3, shall be at the medical assistance rate.

Subd. 4.Definition of medical assistance rate for inpatient hospital services.

The "medical assistance rate," as used in this section to apply to rates for providing inpatient hospital services, means the rates established under sections 256.9685 to 256.9695 for providing inpatient hospital services to medical assistance recipients who receive Minnesota family investment program assistance.

Subd. 5.

[Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 1 s 68]

Subd. 6.

[Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 1 s 68]

Subd. 7.Critical access dental providers.

Effective for dental services provided to MinnesotaCare enrollees on or after January 1, 2007, through August 31, 2011, the commissioner shall increase payment rates to dentists and dental clinics deemed by the commissioner to be critical access providers under section 256B.76, subdivision 4, by 50 percent above the payment rate that would otherwise be paid to the provider. Effective for dental services provided on or after September 1, 2011, the commissioner shall increase the payment rate by 30 percent above the payment rate that would otherwise be paid to the provider. The commissioner shall pay the prepaid health plans under contract with the commissioner amounts sufficient to reflect this rate increase. The prepaid health plan must pass this rate increase to providers who have been identified by the commissioner as critical access dental providers under section 256B.76, subdivision 4.