Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Except for chemical dependency services paid for with funds provided under chapter 254B, a client's relatives shall not, pursuant to the commissioner's authority under section 246.51, be ordered to pay more than the following: (1) for services provided in a community-based service, the noncovered cost of care as determined under the ability to pay determination; and (2) for services provided at a regional treatment center operated by state-operated services, 20 percent of the cost of care, unless they reside outside the state. Parents of children in state facilities shall have their responsibility to pay determined according to section 252.27, subdivision 2, or in rules adopted under chapter 254B if the cost of care is paid under chapter 254B. The commissioner may accept voluntary payments in excess of 20 percent. The commissioner may require full payment of the full per capita cost of care in state facilities for clients whose parent, parents, spouse, guardian, or conservator do not reside in Minnesota.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes