Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) Notwithstanding any provision of a health-related professional practice act, when a health-related licensing board receives a complaint regarding a regulated person and has probable cause to believe continued practice by the regulated person presents an imminent risk of harm, the licensing board shall temporarily suspend the regulated person's professional license. The suspension shall take effect upon written notice to the regulated person and shall specify the reason for the suspension.

(b) The suspension shall remain in effect until the appropriate licensing board or the commissioner completes an investigation and issues a final order in the matter after a hearing.

(c) At the time it issues the suspension notice, the appropriate licensing board shall schedule a disciplinary hearing to be held before the licensing board or pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. The regulated person shall be provided with at least ten days' notice of any hearing held pursuant to this section. The hearing shall be scheduled to begin no later than 30 days after issuance of the suspension order.

(d) If the board has not completed its investigation and issued a final order within 30 days, the temporary suspension shall be lifted, unless the regulated person requests a delay in the disciplinary proceedings for any reason, upon which the temporary suspension shall remain in place until the completion of the investigation.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes