Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

256D.23 TEMPORARY COUNTY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1.Program established.

Minnesota residents who meet the income and resource standards of section 256D.01, subdivision 1a, but do not qualify for cash benefits under sections 256D.01 to 256D.21, may qualify for a county payment under this section.

Subd. 2.Payment amount, duration, and method.

(a) A county may make a payment of up to $203 for a single individual and up to $260 for a married couple under the terms of this subdivision.

(b) Payments to an individual or married couple may only be made once in a calendar year. If the applicant qualifies for a payment as a result of an emergency, as defined by the county, the payment shall be made within ten working days of the date of application. If the applicant does not qualify under the county definition of emergency, the payment shall be made at the beginning of the second month following the month of application, and the applicant must receive the payment in person at the local agency office.

(c) Payments may be made in the form of cash or as vendor payments for rent and utilities. If vendor payments are made, they shall be equal to $203 for a single individual or $260 for a married couple, or the actual amount of rent and utilities, whichever is less.

(d) Each county must develop policies and procedures as necessary to implement this section.

(e) Payments under this section are not an entitlement. No county is required to make a payment in excess of the amount available to the county under subdivision 3.

Subd. 3.State allocation to counties.

The commissioner shall allocate to each county on an annual basis the amount specifically appropriated for payments under this section. The allocation shall be based on each county's proportionate share of state fiscal year 1994 work readiness expenditures.