Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

246B.10 LIABILITY OF COUNTY; REIMBURSEMENT.

The civilly committed sex offender's county shall pay to the state a portion of the cost of care provided in the Minnesota sex offender program to a civilly committed sex offender who has legally settled in that county. A county's payment must be made from the county's own sources of revenue and payments must equal 25 percent of the cost of care, as determined by the commissioner, for each day or portion of a day, that the civilly committed sex offender spends at the facility. If payments received by the state under this chapter exceed 75 percent of the cost of care, the county is responsible for paying the state the remaining amount. The county is not entitled to reimbursement from the civilly committed sex offender, the civilly committed sex offender's estate, or from the civilly committed sex offender's relatives, except as provided in section 246B.07.