Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.General requirements and procedures.

(a) The commissioner shall issue state parks and trails plates to an applicant who:

(1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, recreational vehicle, one ton pickup truck, or motorcycle;

(2) pays a fee of $10 to cover the costs of handling and manufacturing the plates;

(3) pays the registration tax required under section 168.013;

(4) pays the fees required under this chapter;

(5) contributes a minimum of $50 annually to the state parks and trails donation account established in section 85.056; and

(6) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and licensing of drivers.

(b) The state parks and trails plate application must indicate that the contribution specified under paragraph (a), clause (5), is a minimum contribution to receive the plate and that the applicant may make an additional contribution to the account.

(c) State parks and trails plates may be personalized according to section 168.12, subdivision 2a.

Subd. 2.Design.

After consultation with interested groups, the commissioners of natural resources and public safety shall jointly select a suitable symbol for use by the commissioner of public safety to design the state parks and trails plates.

Subd. 3.No refund.

Contributions under this section must not be refunded.

Subd. 4.Plate transfers.

Notwithstanding section 168.12, subdivision 1, on payment of a transfer fee of $5, plates issued under this section may be transferred to another passenger automobile registered to the person to whom the plates were issued.

Subd. 5.Contribution and fees credited.

Contributions under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (5), must be paid to the commissioner and credited to the state parks and trails donation account established in section 85.056. The other fees collected under this section must be deposited in the vehicle services operating account of the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.

Subd. 6.Record.

The commissioner shall maintain a record of the number of plates issued under this section.

Subd. 7.Exemption.

Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section 168.1293, subdivision 2.

NOTE: This section, as added by Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 13, section 31, applies to applications submitted after January 1, 2016, or the date the new driver and vehicle services information technology system is implemented, whichever comes later. Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 13, section 31, the effective date.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes