Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

144.386 PENALTIES.

Subdivision 1.Basic fine.

A person who violates a rule of the commissioner, fails to comply with the terms of a variance or exemption, or fails to request a variance or exemption by the date specified in the notice from the commissioner, may be fined up to $1,000 for each day the offense continues, in a civil action brought by the commissioner in district court. All fines shall be deposited in the general fund of the state treasury.

Subd. 2.Gross misdemeanor fine.

A person who intentionally or repeatedly violates a rule of the commissioner, or fails to comply with an emergency order of the commissioner, is guilty of a gross misdemeanor, and may be fined not more than $10,000, imprisoned not more than one year, or both.

Subd. 3.Drinking water notice; fine.

A supplier who fails to comply with the provisions of section 144.385, or disseminates false or misleading information relating to the notice required in section 144.385, is subject to the penalties described in subdivision 2.

Subd. 4.

[Repealed, 1993 c 206 s 25]

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes