Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Written decisions required.

(a) When an issue of fact has been tried by the court, the decision shall be in writing, the facts found and the conclusion of law shall be separately stated, and judgment shall be entered accordingly. Except as provided in paragraph (b), all questions of fact and law, and all motions and matters submitted to a judge for a decision in trial and appellate matters, shall be disposed of and the decision filed with the court administrator within 90 days after such submission, unless sickness or casualty shall prevent, or the time be extended by written consent of the parties. No part of the salary of any judge shall be paid unless the voucher therefor be accompanied by a certificate of the judge that there has been full compliance with the requirements of this section.

(b) If a hearing has been held on a petition under chapter 260 involving physical or sexual abuse of a child who is alleged to be in need of protection or services or neglected and in foster care, the decision must be filed within 15 days after the matter is submitted to the judge.

Subd. 2.Board of judicial standards review.

At least annually, the board on judicial standards shall review the compliance of each district judge with the provisions of subdivision 1. To facilitate this review, the director of the state judicial information system shall notify the executive secretary of the state board on judicial standards when a matter exceeds 90 days without a disposition. The board shall notify the commissioner of management and budget of each judge not in compliance. If the board finds that a judge has compelling reasons for noncompliance, it may decide not to issue the notice. Upon notification that a judge is not in compliance, the commissioner of management and budget shall not pay the salary of that judge. The board may cancel a notice of noncompliance upon finding that a judge is in compliance, but in no event shall a judge be paid a salary for the period in which the notification of noncompliance was in effect.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes