Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) A member to whom public employees police and fire retirement plan membership was extended under section 353.64, subdivision 11, may receive retroactive service credit in the public employees police and fire retirement plan for service as a tribal police officer rendered before the effective date of membership of the tribal police department employee in the police and fire fund, provided that the employee and the police department did not make contributions into a qualified tax-deferred retirement plan for that employment period.

(b) The request for retroactive coverage must be in writing and must be filed with the association within 60 days of when police and fire fund membership commenced. The prior service credit purchase payment is governed by section 356.551, except that the member must pay an amount equal to the employee salary deductions. The employee salary deductions for the retroactive period must be based on the police and fire pension plan member contribution rates in effect when the service was rendered and applied to the salary amount that was earned and paid to the police officer. The employer must pay the balance of the prior service credit purchase payment amount within 30 days of the member contribution payment.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes