Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

80C.16 ENFORCEMENT; PENALTIES AND REMEDIES.

Subdivision 1.

[Repealed, 1987 c 336 s 47]

Subd. 2.Civil penalties and remedies.

Any person who violates section 80C.02, 80C.06, 80C.09, 80C.13 or 80C.14 shall be subject to a fine of not more than $2,000 for each violation. Any person who fails to comply with a final judgment or order rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction, issued for a violation of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22, shall be subject to a fine of not more than $25,000. The fines authorized by this subdivision shall be imposed in a civil action brought by the attorney general on behalf of the state of Minnesota, and shall be deposited into the state treasury.

Subd. 3.Criminal penalties.

(a) Any person who willfully violates any provision of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22 shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

(b) Any person who employs, directly or indirectly, any device, scheme or artifice to defraud in connection with the offer or sale of any franchise or engages, directly or indirectly, in any act, practice or course of business which operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon any person in connection with the offer, purchase or sale of any franchise shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

(c) Nothing in this subdivision limits the power of the state to punish any person for any conduct which constitutes a crime under any other statute.

History:

1973 c 612 s 16; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 11; 1986 c 444