Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Crime defined.

A person is guilty of criminal sexual predatory conduct if the person commits a predatory crime that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal.

Subd. 2.Penalty.

(a) Except as provided in section 609.3455, the statutory maximum sentence for a violation of subdivision 1 is: (1) 25 percent longer than for the underlying predatory crime; or (2) 50 percent longer than for the underlying predatory crime, if the violation is committed by a person with a previous sex offense conviction, as defined in section 609.3455, subdivision 1.

(b) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a fine of not more than $20,000.

(c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under section 609.3455.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes