Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


(a) In addition to those agencies that have previously qualified as comprehensive community mental health centers under the provisions of the federal Community Mental Health Centers Act, other public or nonprofit private agencies that are able to demonstrate their capacity to provide the following services as defined by the commissioner may qualify as a community mental health center for the purposes of the federal block grant. The federally required services may be provided by separate agencies. These services include:

(1) outpatient services, including specialized outpatient services for children, the elderly, individuals who are chronically mentally ill and residents of its mental health service area who have been discharged from inpatient treatment at a mental health facility;

(2) 24-hour a day emergency care services;

(3) day treatment or partial hospitalization services;

(4) screening for patients being considered for admission to state mental health facilities to determine the appropriateness of the admission; and

(5) consultation and education services.

(b) Before accepting federal block grant funds for mental health services, counties shall provide the commissioner with all necessary assurances that the qualified community mental health centers which receive these block grant funds meet the minimum service requirements of paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (5). At any time at least 30 days prior to the commissioner's allocation of federal funds, any county may notify the commissioner of its decision not to accept the federal funds for qualified community mental health centers.


1982 c 607 s 7

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes