Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Violation; willful violation.

The commissioner may, if the commissioner finds that any person or organization has violated any provisions of this chapter, impose a penalty of not more than $50 for each violation, and if the commissioner finds such violation to be willful the commissioner may impose a penalty of not more than $500 therefor. Such penalties may be in addition to any other penalty provided by law.

Subd. 2.Suspension of license.

The commissioner may suspend the license of any rate service organization or insurer which fails to comply with any order within the time limited by such order, or any extension thereof which the commissioner may grant. The commissioner shall not suspend the license of any rate service organization or insurer for failure to comply with an order until the time prescribed for an appeal therefrom has expired or, if an appeal has been taken, until the order has been affirmed. The commissioner may determine when a suspension of license shall become effective and that suspension shall remain in effect for the period fixed, unless the commissioner modifies or rescinds it, or until the order upon which it is based is modified, rescinded or reversed.

Subd. 3.Penalty imposed by written order.

No penalty shall be imposed, and no license shall be suspended or revoked, except upon a written order of the commissioner, stating the findings made after a hearing held upon not less than ten days' written notice to the person or organization to be affected thereby, specifying the alleged violation or ground of suspension or revocation.


1969 c 958 s 21; 1986 c 444

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes