Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes


Subdivision 1.Before sale.

Any person whose property has been levied upon shall have the right to pay the amount due, together with the expenses of the proceeding, if any, to the commissioner at any time prior to the sale thereof, and upon payment the commissioner shall restore the property to the person, and all further proceedings in connection with the levy on the property shall cease from the time of payment.

Subd. 2.Redemption of real estate after sale.

The owners of any real property sold as provided in this section, their heirs, executors, or administrators, or any person having any interest therein, or a lien thereon, or any person in their behalf, shall be permitted to redeem the property sold, or any particular tract of the property, at any time within six months, or in case the real property sold exceeds ten acres in size, at any time within 12 months, after the sale thereof. The property or tract of property shall be permitted to be redeemed upon payment to the purchaser (or if not found in the county in which the property to be redeemed is situated, then to the commissioner, for the use of the purchaser, or the purchaser's heirs or assigns) of the amount paid by the purchaser together with interest at the rate of 20 percent per annum.

Subd. 3.Record.

When any lands sold are redeemed as provided in this section, the commissioner shall cause entry of the fact to be made upon the record required by section 270C.7106 and the entry shall be evidence of the redemption.

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes