Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Redemption shall be made as provided in this section.
The person desiring to redeem shall pay the amount required by law for the redemption, and
shall produce to the person or officer receiving the redemption payment:
(1) a copy of the docket of the judgment, or of the deed or mortgage, or of the record or
files evidencing any other lien under which the person claims a right to redeem, certified by the
officer with custody of the docket, record, or files, or the original deed or mortgage with the
certificate of record endorsed on it;
(2) a copy of any assignment necessary to evidence the person's ownership of the lien,
certified by the officer with custody of the assignment, or the original of each instrument of
assignment with the certificate of record endorsed on it. If the redemption is under an assignment
of a judgment, the assignment shall be filed in the court entering the judgment, as provided by
law, and the person so redeeming shall produce a certified copy of it and of the record of its filing,
and the copy of the docket shall show that the proper entry was made upon the docket. No further
evidence of the assignment of the judgment is required unless the mortgaged premises or part of
it is registered property, in which case the judgment and all assignments of the judgment must
be entered as a memorial upon the certificate of title to the mortgaged premises and the original
judgment and each assignment with the certificate of record endorsed on it, or a copy certified by
the registrar of titles, must be produced; and
(3) an affidavit of the person or the person's agent, showing the amount then actually claimed
due on the person's lien and required to be paid on the lien in order to redeem from the person.
If redemption is made to the sheriff, the sheriff may charge a fee of $250 for issuing the
certificate of redemption and any related service. No other fee may be charged by the sheriff
for a redemption.
Within 24 hours after a redemption is made, the person redeeming shall cause the documents
so required to be produced to be filed with the county recorder, or registrar of titles, who may
receive fees as prescribed in section 357.18 or 508.82. If the redemption is made at any place
other than the county seat, it is sufficient forthwith to deposit the documents in the nearest post
office, addressed to the recorder or registrar of titles, with the postage prepaid. A person recording
documents produced for redemption shall, on the same day, deliver copies of the documents to the
sheriff for public inspection. The sheriff may receive a fee of $20 for the documents delivered
following a redemption. The sheriff shall note the date of delivery on the documents and shall
maintain for public inspection all documents delivered to the sheriff for a period of six months
after the end of the mortgagor's redemption period.
History: (9628) RL s 4482; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1983 c 99 s 4; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 234 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes