Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Judgment upon failure to disclose. If a garnishee fails to serve a disclosure
as required in this chapter, the court may render judgment against the garnishee, upon motion by
the creditor, for an amount not exceeding 110 percent of the amount claimed in the garnishment
summons. The motion shall be supported by an affidavit of the facts and shall be served upon
both the debtor and the garnishee. The court upon good cause shown may remove the default and
permit the garnishee to disclose on just terms.
    Subd. 2. Limitation of liability. Judgment against a garnishee shall be rendered, if at all,
for the amount due to the debtor, or as much as may be necessary to satisfy the creditor's claim
against the debtor, with costs taxed and allowed in the proceeding against the garnishee but
not to exceed 110 percent of the amount claimed in the garnishment summons. This judgment
discharges the garnishee from all claims of all parties named in the process in and to the property
or money paid, delivered, or accounted for by the garnishee by force of the judgment.
History: 1990 c 606 art 3 s 14; 2000 c 405 s 21

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes