Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

327.35 FINES; MANUFACTURED HOMES PRODUCED AFTER JUNE 14, 1976.
    Subdivision 1. Monetary penalty. Notwithstanding the penalty amount of section 326B.082,
subdivisions 7
and 12, any person who violates any provision of this section is liable to the state
of Minnesota for a monetary penalty of not to exceed $1,000 for each violation. Each violation
involving a separate manufactured home or involving a separate failure or refusal to allow or
perform any act required by this section constitutes a separate violation, except that the maximum
monetary penalties for any related series of violations occurring within one year from the date of
the first violation may not exceed $1,000,000.
    Subd. 2. Willful violations. Any individual or a director, officer, or agent of a corporation
who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of this section in a manner which threatens
the health or safety of any purchaser shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
    Subd. 3. General prohibition. No person shall manufacture for sale, lease, sell, offer for sale
or lease, or introduce or deliver into the state of Minnesota any manufactured home manufactured
after June 14, 1976, which does not comply with the manufactured home construction and safety
standards promulgated by the secretary. This subdivision does not apply:
(a) to any sale or offer for sale made after the first purchase of a manufactured home in good
faith for purposes other than resale;
(b) to any person who establishes that there was no reason to know in the exercise of due
care that a manufactured home is not in conformity with applicable federal manufactured home
construction and safety standards;
(c) to any person, who prior to first purchase, holds a certificate issued by the manufacturer
or importer of the manufactured home certifying that the manufactured home conforms to all
applicable federal manufactured home construction and safety standards, unless the person knows
that the manufactured home does not conform; or
(d) to any manufactured home intended solely for export, and so labeled or tagged on the
manufactured home itself and on the outside of the container, if any, in which it is to be exported.
    Subd. 4. Access for information gathering. No person shall fail or refuse to permit the
commissioner or an authorized agent access at any reasonable time to or the copying of records,
or fail to make reports available or provide information, or fail or refuse to permit reasonable
entry or inspection at any reasonable time of any manufactured home manufactured after June 14,
1976 or reasonable inspection of any related records pertaining to the manufactured home.
    Subd. 5. Notice of defects. No manufacturer, dealer, or distributor shall fail to notify the
purchaser of any manufactured home manufactured after June 14, 1976, of any defect in the
manufactured home which the manufacturer, dealer, or distributor determines, in good faith,
constitutes a violation of any federal manufactured home construction and safety standard
or constitutes an imminent safety hazard to the purchaser of the manufactured home, within a
reasonable time after the manufacturer, dealer, or distributor discovers the defect.
    Subd. 6. Compliance with final order. No person shall fail to comply with a final order
issued under the requirements of the federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety
Standards Act of 1974, United States Code, title 42, section 5401, et seq., as amended.
    Subd. 7. Issuance of labels. No person shall fail to issue a label if required to do so under
the rules adopted by and pursuant to the federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety
Standards Act of 1974, United States Code, title 42, section 5401, et seq., as amended. No person
shall issue a label to the effect that a manufactured home conforms to all applicable federal
manufactured home construction and safety standards if that person in the exercise of due care has
reason to know that the labeling is false or misleading in any material respect.
History: 1981 c 365 s 8; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 11; 1986 c 444; 2007 c 140 art 4 s 40,41