Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Penalty for failure to pay tax. If a tax is not paid within the time specified
for payment, a penalty is added to the amount required to be shown as tax. The penalty is five
percent of the unpaid tax if the failure is for not more than 30 days, with an additional penalty of
five percent of the amount of tax remaining unpaid during each additional 30 days or fraction of
30 days during which the failure continues, not exceeding 15 percent in the aggregate.
If the taxpayer has not filed a return, for purposes of this subdivision the time specified for
payment is the final date a return should have been filed.
    Subd. 2. Penalty for failure to make and file return. If a taxpayer fails to make and file a
return within the time prescribed or an extension, a penalty is added to the tax. The penalty is five
percent of the amount of tax not paid on or before the date prescribed for payment of the tax.
    Subd. 3.[Repealed, 1999 c 243 art 16 s 39]
    Subd. 4. Penalty for intentional disregard of law or rules. If part of an additional
assessment is due to negligence or intentional disregard of the provisions of this chapter or rules
of the commissioner of revenue (but without intent to defraud), there is added to the tax an amount
equal to ten percent of the additional assessment.
    Subd. 5. Penalty for false or fraudulent return; evasion. If a person files a false or
fraudulent return, or attempts in any manner to evade or defeat a tax or payment of tax, there is
imposed on the person a penalty equal to 50 percent of the tax found due for the period to which
the return related, less amounts paid by the person on the basis of the false or fraudulent return.
    Subd. 6. Penalty for repeated failures to file returns or pay taxes. If there is a pattern by a
person of repeated failures to timely file returns or timely pay taxes, and written notice is given
that a penalty will be imposed if such failures continue, a penalty of 25 percent of the amount of
tax not timely paid as a result of each such subsequent failure is added to the tax. The penalty can
be abated under the abatement authority in section 270C.34.
    Subd. 7. Penalty for sales after revocation, suspension, or expiration. A distributor who
engages in, or whose representative engages in, the offering for sale, sale, transport, delivery, or
furnishing of gambling equipment to a person, firm, or organization, after the distributor's license
or permit has been revoked or suspended, or has expired, and until such license or permit has been
reinstated or renewed, is liable for a penalty of $1,000 for each day the distributor continues to
engage in the activity. This subdivision does not apply to the transport of gambling equipment for
the purpose of returning the equipment to a licensed manufacturer.
    Subd. 8. Payment of penalties. The penalties imposed by this section must be collected and
paid in the same manner as taxes.
    Subd. 9. Penalties are additional. The civil penalties imposed by this section are in addition
to the criminal penalties imposed by this chapter.
    Subd. 10.[Repealed, 2005 c 151 art 1 s 117; art 8 s 20]
History: 1994 c 633 art 2 s 13; 1995 c 264 art 13 s 20; 2005 c 151 art 2 s 17

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes