Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

(a) A landowner may apply to enroll forest land for the sustainable forest incentive
program under this chapter. The claimant must complete, sign, and submit an application to the
commissioner by September 30 in order for the land to become eligible beginning in the next
year. The application shall be on a form prescribed by the commissioner and must include the
information the commissioner deems necessary. At a minimum, the application must show the
following information for the land and the claimant: (i) the claimant's Social Security number or
state or federal business tax registration number and date of birth, (ii) the claimant's address, (iii)
the claimant's signature, (iv) the county's parcel identification numbers for the tax parcels that
completely contain the claimant's forest land that is sought to be enrolled, (v) the number of acres
eligible for enrollment in the program, (vi) the approved plan writer's signature and identification
number, and (vii) proof, in a form specified by the commissioner, that the claimant has executed
and acknowledged in the manner required by law for a deed, and recorded, a covenant that the
land is not and shall not be developed in a manner inconsistent with the requirements and
conditions of this chapter. The covenant shall state in writing that the covenant is binding on the
claimant and the claimant's successor or assignee, and that it runs with the land for a period of
not less than eight years. The commissioner shall specify the form of the covenant and provide
copies upon request. The covenant must include a legal description that encompasses all the
forest land that the claimant wishes to enroll under this section or the certificate of title number
for that land if it is registered land.
(b) In all cases, the commissioner shall notify the claimant within 90 days after receipt of a
completed application that either the land has or has not been approved for enrollment. A claimant
whose application is denied may appeal the denial as provided in section 290C.11, paragraph (a).
(c) Within 90 days after the denial of an application, or within 90 days after the final
resolution of any appeal related to the denial, the commissioner shall execute and acknowledge a
document releasing the land from the covenant required under this chapter. The document must
be mailed to the claimant and is entitled to be recorded.
(d) The Social Security numbers collected from individuals under this section are private
data as provided in section 13.355. The federal business tax registration number and date of
birth data collected under this section are also private data on individuals or nonpublic data, as
defined in section 13.02, subdivisions 9 and 12, but may be shared with county assessors for
purposes of tax administration and with county treasurers for purposes of the revenue recapture
under chapter 270A.
History: 1Sp2001 c 5 art 8 s 8; 2004 c 228 art 1 s 48; 2006 c 236 art 2 s 4

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes