Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Membership. Four community-specific boards are created. Each board
consists of five members. The chair of each of the following groups shall appoint the board for
the community represented by the group: the Indian Affairs Council; the Council on Affairs of
Chicano/Latino people; the Council on Black Minnesotans; and the Council on Asian-Pacific
Minnesotans. In making appointments, the chair must consult with other members of the council.
    Subd. 2. Compensation; chair. Members do not receive compensation but are entitled to
receive reimbursement for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred.
    Subd. 3. Meetings. Each board shall meet regularly at the request of the appointing chair
or the ombudsperson.
    Subd. 4. Duties. Each board shall appoint the ombudsperson for its community. Each board
shall advise and assist the ombudsperson for its community in selecting matters for attention;
developing policies, plans, and programs to carry out the ombudspersons' functions and powers;
establishing protocols for working with the communities of color; developing procedures for the
ombudspersons' use of the subpoena power to compel testimony and evidence from nonagency
individuals; and making reports and recommendations for changes designed to improve standards
of competence, efficiency, justice, and protection of rights.
    Subd. 5. Terms, compensation, removal, and expiration. The membership terms,
compensation, and removal of members of each board and the filling of membership vacancies
are governed by section 15.0575.
    Subd. 6. Joint meetings. The members of the four community-specific boards shall meet
jointly at least four times each year to advise the ombudspersons on overall policies, plans,
protocols, and programs for the office.
History: 1986 c 444; 1991 c 292 art 3 s 29; 1994 c 632 art 4 s 64; 1997 c 7 art 3 s 8

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes