Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Sole benefit of inmate. Any money arising under section 243.23 shall be and
remain under the control of the commissioner of corrections and shall be for the sole benefit of the
inmate, unless by special order of the commissioner of corrections it shall be used as designated
in section 243.23, subdivisions 2 and 3, or for rendering assistance to the inmate's family or
dependent relatives, under such rules as to time, manner, and amount of disbursements as the
commissioner of corrections may prescribe. Unless ordered disbursed as hereinbefore prescribed
or for an urgency determined in each case by the chief executive officer of the facility, a portion of
such earnings in an amount to be determined by the commissioner shall be set aside and kept by
the facility in the public welfare fund of the state for the benefit of the inmate and for the purpose
of assisting the inmate when leaving the facility and if released on parole said sum to be disbursed
to the inmate in such amounts and at such times as the commissioner of corrections may authorize
and on final discharge, if any portion remains undisbursed, it shall be transmitted to the inmate.
    Subd. 2. Chief executive officer to increase fund to $100. If the fund standing to the
credit of the prisoner on the prisoner's leaving the facility by discharge, supervised release, or
on parole be less than $100, the warden or chief executive officer is directed to pay out of
the current expense fund of the facility sufficient funds to make the total of said earnings the
sum of $100. Offenders who have previously received the $100 upon their initial release from
incarceration will not receive the $100 on any second or subsequent release from incarceration
for that offense. Offenders who were sentenced as short-term offenders under section 609.105
shall not receive gate money.
    Subd. 3. Forfeiture of contraband money or property. Money or property received by or
in the possession of an inmate that is determined by the head of the institution after an institutional
disciplinary hearing to be contraband within the meaning of rules adopted by the commissioner
of corrections may be seized by the institution head or by the head's designee. Property seized
under this subdivision may be sold or destroyed if the property is not claimed by its rightful
owner within 30 days. Proceeds from a sale or money seized pursuant to this subdivision must
be deposited in the inmate social welfare fund for the benefit of the inmates of the facility. The
commissioner of corrections shall adopt rules consistent with this section. The state or an official,
employee, or agent of the state is not liable for any damages due to the disposal of personal
property or use of money in accordance with this section.
History: (10821) 1909 c 304 s 2; 1943 c 430 s 2; 1955 c 261 s 1; 1959 c 263 s 2,3; 1971 c
878 s 1; 1979 c 102 s 13; 1980 c 417 s 3; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 252 s 6,7; 1987 c
384 art 2 s 57; 1994 c 636 art 6 s 12; 2005 c 136 art 13 s 5

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes