Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

18B.31 PESTICIDE DEALER LICENSE.
    Subdivision 1. Requirement. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), no fixed location may
offer for sale or sell a restricted use or bulk pesticide to a pesticide end user without a pesticide
dealer license.
(b) A pesticide dealer license is not required for:
(1) a licensed commercial applicator, noncommercial applicator, or structural pest control
applicator who uses restricted use pesticides only as an integral part of a pesticide application
service;
(2) a federal, state, county, or municipal agency using restricted use pesticides for its own
programs;
(3) a licensed pharmacist, physician, dentist, or veterinarian when administering or
dispensing a restricted use pesticide for use in the pharmacist's, physician's, dentist's, or
veterinarian's practice; or
(4) a person at a fixed location that is not used to offer for sale or sell restricted use or bulk
pesticides including, but not limited to, warehouses or other storage sites.
(c) A licensed pesticide dealer may sell restricted use pesticides only to an applicator
licensed or certified by the commissioner, unless a sale is allowed by rule.
(d) A pesticide dealer license is required for an individual not located in Minnesota who
offers for sale or sells a restricted use or bulk pesticide to a pesticide end user located in Minnesota.
(e) Only one pesticide dealer license is required per fixed location from which a restricted
use or bulk pesticide is offered for sale or sold to a pesticide end user.
    Subd. 2. Responsibility. A pesticide dealer is responsible for the acts of a person who assists
the dealer in the solicitation and sale of restricted use pesticides.
    Subd. 3. License. A pesticide dealer license:
(1) expires on December 31 of each year unless it is suspended or revoked before that date;
(2) is not transferable to another location; and
(3) must be prominently displayed to the public in the pesticide dealer's place of business.
    Subd. 4. Application. (a) A person must apply to the commissioner for a pesticide dealer
license on the forms and in the manner required by the commissioner.
(b) The commissioner may require an additional demonstration of dealer qualification if
the dealer has had a license suspended or revoked, or has otherwise had a history of violations
of this chapter.
    Subd. 5. Application fee. (a) An application for a pesticide dealer license must be
accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $150.
(b) If an application for renewal of a pesticide dealer license is not filed before January 1
of the year for which the license is to be issued, an additional fee of $20 must be paid by the
applicant before the license is issued.
History: 1987 c 358 s 73; 1989 c 326 art 5 s 35-37; 1993 c 367 s 8; 1995 c 95 s 2; 1Sp2005
c 1 art 1 s 18