148.916 GUEST LICENSURE.
Subdivision 1. Generally.
If a nonresident of the state of Minnesota, who is not seeking
licensure in this state, and who has been issued a license, certificate, or registration by another
jurisdiction to practice psychology at the doctoral level, wishes to practice in Minnesota for more
than seven calendar days, the person shall apply to the board for guest licensure, provided that
the psychologist's practice in Minnesota is limited to no more than 30 days per calendar year.
Application under this section shall be made no less than 30 days prior to the expected date of
practice in Minnesota and shall be subject to approval by the board or its designee. The board
shall charge a nonrefundable fee for guest licensure. The board shall adopt rules to implement
Subd. 2. Psychological consultations.
Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a nonresident of the
state of Minnesota, who is not seeking licensure in this state, may serve as an expert witness,
organizational consultant, presenter, or educator without obtaining guest licensure, provided the
person is appropriately trained, educated, or has been issued a license, certificate, or registration
by another jurisdiction.
Subd. 3. Disaster or emergency relief workers.
The requirements of subdivision 1 do
not apply to psychologists sent to this state for the sole purpose of responding to a disaster or
emergency relief effort of this state government, the federal government, the American Red Cross,
or other disaster or emergency relief organization as long as the psychologist is not practicing
in Minnesota for longer than 30 days and the American Red Cross, disaster or emergency relief
organization, or government can certify the psychologist's assignment in this state. The board or its
designee, at its discretion, may grant an extension to the 30-day time limitation of this subdivision.
Subd. 4. Prohibitions and sanctions.
A person's privilege to practice under this section is
subject to the prohibitions and sanctions for unprofessional or unethical conduct contained in
Minnesota laws and rules.
History: 1996 c 424 s 14; 2005 c 147 art 3 s 7