Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Therapy. "Manual therapy" or "mechanical therapy" as used in this section
means manipulation or adjusting joint articulation without anesthesia.
    Subd. 2. Training requirement. A person regulated under this chapter who is not otherwise
authorized to provide manual therapy or mechanical therapy, intending to directly treat or
normalize abnormal or dysfunctional articulations of the human body must be certified by the
state board which regulates the person's practice as successfully completing training in manual
or mechanical therapy at a level of not less than: (1) 555 hours of training to include lecture
and supervised laboratory training; (2) 315 hours in the area of radiographic interpretation; and
(3) 1,155 hours of supervised work in an outpatient setting. The training must be provided
by an institution which is fully accredited in the area of chiropractic, medicine, osteopathy,
or physical therapy.
    Subd. 3. Diagnosis required before therapy. Before manual therapy or mechanical therapy
is provided, a person licensed by a particular board of examiners to diagnose another person for
any disease, injury, defect, deformity, or infirmity of the body must determine that the person to
receive therapy does not have a condition that would contraindicate the therapy. If the person
making the diagnosis is not also performing the therapy, that person must give a written diagnosis
report prior to the initiation of therapy to the person performing the therapy and is responsible
for ensuring that the person performing the therapy has complied with the training requirements
under subdivision 2.
    Subd. 4. Rules. Any board that regulates persons affected by this section may adopt rules for
the purposes of this section.
    Subd. 5. Penalty. A person who violates this section is subject to disciplinary action by
the board that regulates the person's practice.
    Subd. 6. Scope of practice. Nothing in this section expands or limits the scope of practice of
licensed physical therapists or occupational therapists certified by the American Occupational
Therapy Certification Board.
    Subd. 7. Exemption. The provisions of subdivision 2 do not apply to physicians and doctors
of osteopathy licensed under chapter 147.
History: 1993 c 293 s 1; 2000 c 260 s 23

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes