Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Chapter 97A

Section 97A.475

Topics

Recent History

97A.475 LICENSE FEES.
    Subdivision 1. Requirements for issuance. A license shall be issued when the requirements
of the law are met and the license fee specified in this section is paid.
    Subd. 2. Resident hunting. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents only, are:
(1) for persons age 18 or over and under age 65 to take small game, $12.50;
(2) for persons ages 16 and 17 and age 65 or over, $6 to take small game;
(3) to take turkey, $18;
(4) for persons age 18 or over to take deer with firearms, $26;
(5) for persons age 18 or over to take deer by archery, $26;
(6) to take moose, for a party of not more than six persons, $310;
(7) to take bear, $38;
(8) to take elk, for a party of not more than two persons, $250;
(9) multizone license to take antlered deer in more than one zone, $52;
(10) to take Canada geese during a special season, $4;
(11) all season license to take two deer throughout the state in any open deer season, except
as restricted under section 97B.305, $78;
(12) to take prairie chickens, $20;
(13) for persons at least age 12 and under age 18 to take deer with firearms during the regular
firearms season in any open zone or time period, $13; and
(14) for persons at least age 12 and under age 18 to take deer by archery, $13.
    Subd. 3. Nonresident hunting. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to nonresidents,
are:
(1) to take small game, $73;
(2) to take deer with firearms, $135;
(3) to take deer by archery, the greater of:
(i) an amount equal to the total amount of license fees and surcharges charged to a Minnesota
resident to take deer by archery in the person's state or province of residence; or
(ii) $135;
(4) to take bear, $195;
(5) to take turkey, $73;
(6) to take raccoon, bobcat, fox, or coyote, $155;
(7) multizone license to take antlered deer in more than one zone, $270; and
(8) to take Canada geese during a special season, $4.
    Subd. 4. Small game surcharge. Fees for annual licenses to take small game must be
increased by a surcharge of $6.50. An additional commission may not be assessed on the surcharge
and the following statement must be included in the annual small game hunting regulations: "This
$6.50 surcharge is being paid by hunters for the acquisition and development of wildlife lands."
    Subd. 5. Hunting stamps. Fees for the following stamps and stamp validations are:
(1) migratory waterfowl stamp, $7.50;
(2) pheasant stamp, $7.50; and
(3) turkey stamp validation, $5.
    Subd. 6. Resident fishing. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents only, are:
(1) to take fish by angling, $17;
(2) to take fish by angling, for a combined license for a married couple, $25;
(3) to take fish by spearing from a dark house, $17; and
(4) to take fish by angling for a 24-hour period selected by the licensee, $8.50.
    Subd. 7. Nonresident fishing. Fees for the following licenses, to be issued to nonresidents,
are:
(1) to take fish by angling, $34;
(2) to take fish by angling limited to seven consecutive days selected by the licensee, $24;
(3) to take fish by angling for a 72-hour period selected by the licensee, $20;
(4) to take fish by angling for a combined license for a family for one or both parents and
dependent children under the age of 16, $46;
(5) to take fish by angling for a 24-hour period selected by the licensee, $8.50; and
(6) to take fish by angling for a combined license for a married couple, limited to 14
consecutive days selected by one of the licensees, $35.
    Subd. 8. Minnesota sporting. The commissioner shall issue Minnesota sporting licenses to
residents only. The licensee may take fish by angling and small game. The fee for the license is:
(1) for an individual, $23; and
(2) for a combined license for a married couple to take fish and for one spouse to take
small game, $32.
    Subd. 9.[Repealed, 1994 c 561 s 28]
    Subd. 10. Trout and salmon stamp validation. The fee for a trout and salmon stamp
validation is $10.
    Subd. 11. Fish houses and dark houses; residents. Fees for the following licenses are:
(1) for a fish house or dark house that is not rented, $11.50; and
(2) for a fish house or dark house that is rented, $26.
    Subd. 12. Fish houses; nonresident. Fees for fish house licenses for a nonresident are:
(1) annual, $33; and
(2) seven consecutive days, $19.
    Subd. 13. Netting whitefish and ciscoes for personal consumption. The fee for a license
to net whitefish and ciscoes in inland lakes and international waters for personal consumption
is, for each net, $10.
    Subd. 14.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 15. Fishing guides. The fee for a license to operate a charter boat and guide anglers on
Lake Superior or the St. Louis River Estuary is:
(1) for a resident, $125;
(2) for a nonresident, $400; or
(3) if another state charges a Minnesota resident a fee greater than $440 for a Lake Superior
or St. Louis River Estuary fishing guide license in that state, the nonresident fee for a resident of
that state is that greater fee.
    Subd. 16. Resident hunting guides. The fee for a resident license to guide bear hunters
is $82.50.
    Subd. 17.[Repealed, 1994 c 623 art 1 s 47]
    Subd. 18. Shooting preserves. The fee for a shooting preserve license is:
(1) for a private shooting preserve, $100; and
(2) for a commercial shooting preserve, $500.
    Subd. 19. Taxidermists. The fee for a taxidermist license, to be issued for a three-year
period to residents only, is:
(1) for persons age 18 and older, $44; and
(2) for persons under age 18, $27.50.
    Subd. 20. Trapping license. The fee for a license to trap fur-bearing animals is:
(1) for residents over age 13 and under age 18, $6;
(2) for residents age 18 or over and under age 65, $20;
(3) for residents age 65 or over, $10; and
(4) for nonresidents, $73.
    Subd. 21. Fur buying and selling; residents. (a) The fee for a license for a resident to buy
and sell raw furs is $110.
(b) The fee for a supplemental license to buy and sell furs is $55.
    Subd. 22. Fur buying and selling; nonresidents. The fee for a license for a nonresident to
buy and sell raw furs is $500.
    Subd. 23. Raw fur tanning. The fee for a license to tan and dress raw furs to be issued to
residents and nonresidents is $16.50.
    Subd. 24. Game and fur farms. The fee for a game and fur farm license is $16.50.
    Subd. 25. Muskrat farms. The fee for a muskrat farm license is $11.
    Subd. 26. Minnow dealers. The fees for the following licenses are:
(1) minnow dealer, $310;
(2) minnow dealer's vehicle, $15;
(3) exporting minnow dealer for residents and nonresidents, $700; and
(4) exporting minnow dealer's vehicle for residents and nonresidents, $15.
    Subd. 27. Minnow retailers. The fees for the following licenses, to be issued to residents
and nonresidents, are:
(1) minnow retailer, $47; and
(2) minnow retailer's vehicle, $15.
    Subd. 28.[Repealed, 2004 c 255 s 51]
    Subd. 29. Private fish hatcheries. The fees for the following licenses to be issued to
residents and nonresidents are:
(1) for a private fish hatchery, with annual sales under $200, $70;
(2) for a private fish hatchery, with annual sales of $200 or more, $210; and
(3) to take sucker eggs from public waters for a private fish hatchery, $400, plus $6 for
each quart in excess of 100 quarts.
    Subd. 29a.[Repealed, 1992 c 566 s 23]
    Subd. 30. Commercial netting of fish. The fees to take commercial fish are:
(1) commercial license fees:
(i) for residents and nonresidents seining and netting in inland waters, $120;
(ii) for residents netting in Lake Superior, $120;
(iii) for residents netting in Lake of the Woods, Rainy, Namakan, and Sand Point Lakes, $120;
(iv) for residents seining in the Mississippi River from St. Anthony Falls to the St. Croix
River junction, $120;
(v) for residents seining, netting, and set lining in Wisconsin boundary waters from Lake St.
Croix to the Iowa border, $120; and
(vi) for a resident apprentice license, $55; and
(2) commercial gear fees:
(i) for each gill net in Lake Superior, Wisconsin boundary waters, and Namakan Lake, $5
per 100 feet of net;
(ii) for each seine in inland waters, on the Mississippi River as described in section 97C.801,
subdivision 2
, and in Wisconsin boundary waters, $9 per 100 feet;
(iii) for each commercial hoop net in inland waters, $2;
(iv) for each submerged fyke, trap, and hoop net in Lake Superior, St. Louis Estuary, Lake
of the Woods, and Rainy, Namakan, and Sand Point Lakes, and for each pound net in Lake
Superior, $20;
(v) for each stake and pound net in Lake of the Woods, $90; and
(vi) for each set line in the Wisconsin boundary waters, $45.
    Subd. 31.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 32.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 33.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 34.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 35.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 36.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 37.[Repealed by amendment, 1997 c 216 s 83]
    Subd. 38. Fish buyers. The fees for licenses to buy fish from commercial fishing licensees
to be issued residents and nonresidents are:
(1) for Lake Superior fish bought for sale to retailers, $150;
(2) for Lake Superior fish bought for sale to consumers, $35;
(3) for Lake of the Woods, Namakan, Sand Point, and Rainy Lake fish bought for sale to
retailers, $300; and
(4) for Lake of the Woods, Namakan, Sand Point, and Rainy Lake fish bought for shipment
only on international boundary waters, $35.
    Subd. 39. Fish packer. The fee for a license to prepare dressed game fish for transportation
or shipment is $40.
    Subd. 40. Fish vendors. The fee for a license to use a motor vehicle to sell fish is $70.
    Subd. 41. Turtle licenses. (a) The fee for a turtle seller's license to sell turtles and to take,
transport, buy, and possess turtles for sale is $250.
(b) The fee for a recreational turtle license to take, transport, and possess turtles for personal
use is $25.
(c) The fee for a turtle seller's apprentice license is $100.
    Subd. 42. Frog dealers. The fee for the licenses to deal in frogs that are to be used for
purposes other than bait are:
(1) for a resident to purchase, possess, and transport frogs, $220;
(2) for a nonresident to purchase, possess, and transport frogs, $550; and
(3) for a resident to take, possess, transport, and sell frogs, $35.
    Subd. 43. Duplicate licenses. The fees for duplicate licenses are:
(1) for licenses to take big game, $5; and
(2) for other licenses, $2.
    Subd. 44. Replacement licenses. The fee for a replacement firearms deer license is $5.
    Subd. 45. Camp Ripley archery deer hunt. The application fee for the Camp Ripley
archery deer hunt is $8.
History: 1986 c 386 art 1 s 68; 1987 c 149 art 1 s 32; 1987 c 318 s 2; 1987 c 373 s 9; 1987 c
404 s 122-131; 1988 c 437 s 1,2; 1989 c 266 s 1; 1989 c 335 art 1 s 87-123; 1990 c 605 s 5; 1991
c 254 art 2 s 30-32; 1993 c 172 s 56; 1993 c 231 s 27; 1994 c 561 s 16-20; 1994 c 623 art 1 s 24;
1Sp1995 c 1 s 23,24; 1996 c 364 s 4; 1996 c 410 s 29-36; 1997 c 216 s 83; 1997 c 226 s 23,24;
1999 c 57 s 1; 2000 c 341 s 8; 2000 c 463 s 5-13; 2000 c 473 s 5; 2000 c 495 s 34,35; 1Sp2001 c
2 s 113-115; 2002 c 351 s 11,12; 2003 c 128 art 1 s 58-73; 2004 c 215 s 12-15; 2004 c 255 s
31,51; 2005 c 146 s 18,19; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 100; 2006 c 281 art 2 s 30-32
NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 20 by Laws 2006, chapter 281, article 2, section 32,
is effective March 1, 2007. Laws 2006, chapter 281, article 2, section 32, the effective date.