88.17 PERMISSION TO START FIRES; PROSECUTION FOR UNLAWFULLY
Subdivision 1. Permit required.
(a) A permit to start a fire to burn vegetative materials and
other materials allowed by Minnesota Statutes or official state rules and regulations may be given
by the commissioner or the commissioner's agent. This permission shall be in the form of:
(1) a written permit issued by a forest officer, fire warden, or other person authorized by
the commissioner; or
(2) an electronic permit issued by the commissioner, an agent authorized by the
commissioner, or an Internet site authorized by the commissioner.
(b) Burning permits shall set the time and conditions by which the fire may be started and
burned. The permit shall also specifically list the materials that may be burned. The permittee
must have the permit on their person and shall produce the permit for inspection when requested
to do so by a forest officer, conservation officer, or other peace officer. The permittee shall remain
with the fire at all times and before leaving the site shall completely extinguish the fire. A person
shall not start or cause a fire to be started on any land that is not owned or under their legal
control without the written permission of the owner, lessee, or an agent of the owner or lessee
of the land. Violating or exceeding the permit conditions shall constitute a misdemeanor and
shall be cause for the permit to be revoked.
Subd. 2.[Repealed, 1993 c 328 s 32
Subd. 3. Special permits.
The following special permits are required at all times, including
when the ground is snow-covered:
(a) Fire training. A permit to start a fire for the instruction and training of firefighters,
including liquid fuels training, may be given by the commissioner or agent of the commissioner.
Except for owners or operators conducting fire training in specialized industrial settings pursuant
to applicable federal, state, or local standards, owners or operators conducting open burning
for the purpose of instruction and training of firefighters with regard to structures must follow
the techniques described in a document entitled: Structural Burn Training Procedures for the
Minnesota Technical College System.
(b) Permanent tree and brush open burning sites. A permit for the operation of a
permanent tree and brush burning site may be given by the commissioner or agent of the
commissioner. Applicants for a permanent open burning site permit shall submit a complete
application on a form provided by the commissioner. Existing permanent tree and brush open
burning sites must submit for a permit within 90 days of the passage of this statute for a
burning permit. New site applications must be submitted at least 90 days before the date of the
proposed operation of the permanent open burning site. The application must be submitted to
the commissioner and must contain:
(1) the name, address, and telephone number of all owners of the site proposed for use
as the permanent open burning site;
(2) if the operator for the proposed permanent open burning site is different from the owner,
the name, address, and telephone number of the operator;
(3) a general description of the materials to be burned, including the source and estimated
(4) a topographic or similarly detailed map of the site and surrounding area within a one mile
circumference showing all structures that might be affected by the operation of the site.
Only trees, tree trimmings, or brush that cannot be disposed of by an alternative method such
as chipping, composting, or other method shall be permitted to be burned at a permanent open
burning site. A permanent tree and brush open burning site must be located so as not to create a
nuisance or endanger water quality.
Subd. 4. Account created.
There is created in the state treasury a burning permit account
within the natural resources fund where all fees collected under this section shall be deposited.
Subd. 5. Permit fees.
(a) The annual fees for an electronic burning permit are:
(1) $5 for a noncommercial burning permit; and
(2) for commercial enterprises that obtain multiple permits, $5 per permit for each burning
site, up to a maximum of $50 per individual business enterprise per year.
(b) Except for the issuing fee under paragraph (c), money received from permits issued under
this section shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the burning permit account and,
except for the electronic licensing system commission established by the commissioner under
, subdivision 15, is annually appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources
for the costs of operating the burning permit system.
(c) Of the fee amount collected under paragraph (a), $1 shall be retained by the permit agent
as a commission for issuing electronic permits.
(d) Fire wardens who issue written permits may charge a fee of up to $1 for each permit
issued, to be retained by the fire warden as a commission for issuing the permit. This paragraph
does not limit a local government unit from charging an administrative fee for issuing open
burning permits within its jurisdiction.
History: (4031-23) 1925 c 407 s 23; 1967 c 146 s 13; 1969 c 410 s 2; 1978 c 735 s 4; 1986 c
444; 1987 c 271 s 1; 1993 c 328 s 25,26; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 66-68; 2006 c 281 art 1 s 18