62M.03 COMPLIANCE WITH STANDARDS.
Subdivision 1. Licensed utilization review organization.
Beginning January 1, 1993,
any organization that meets the definition of utilization review organization in section
, must be licensed under chapter 60A, 62C, 62D, 62N, 62T, or 64B, or registered
under this chapter and must comply with sections
subdivisions 8 and 8a
. Each licensed community integrated service network or health maintenance
organization that has an employed staff model of providing health care services shall comply
72A.201, subdivisions 8 and 8a
, for any services
provided by providers under contract.
Subd. 2. Nonlicensed utilization review organization.
An organization that meets the
definition of a utilization review organization under section
62M.02, subdivision 21
, that is
not licensed in this state that performs utilization review services for Minnesota residents must
register with the commissioner of commerce and must certify compliance with sections
Initial registration must occur no later than January 1, 1993. The registration is effective for
two years and may be renewed. Applications for initial and renewal registrations must be made on
forms prescribed by the commissioner. Each utilization review organization registered under this
chapter shall notify the commissioner of commerce within 30 days of any change in the name,
address, or ownership of the organization. The organization shall pay to the commissioner of
commerce a fee of $1,000 for the initial registration application and $1,000 for each two-year
Subd. 3. Penalties and enforcements.
If a utilization review organization fails to comply
, the organization may not provide utilization review services
for any Minnesota resident. The commissioner of commerce may issue a cease and desist order
45.027, subdivision 5
, to enforce this provision. The cease and desist order is
subject to appeal under chapter 14. A nonlicensed utilization review organization that fails to
comply with the provisions of sections
is subject to all applicable penalty
and enforcement provisions of section
. Each utilization review organization licensed
under chapter 60A, 62C, 62D, 62N, 62T, or 64B shall comply with sections
as a condition of licensure.
History: 1992 c 574 s 3; 1994 c 625 art 2 s 9-11; 1997 c 225 art 2 s 62; 1999 c 239 s 17,18;
2001 c 215 s 24; 2002 c 330 s 27