Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

    Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:
(a) "child" means a person 15 years of age or younger;
(b) "sexual conduct" means sexual contact of the individual's primary genital area, sexual
penetration as defined in section 609.341, or sexual performance as defined in section 617.246; and
(c) "solicit" means commanding, entreating, or attempting to persuade a specific person in
person, by telephone, by letter, or by computerized or other electronic means.
    Subd. 2. Prohibited act. A person 18 years of age or older who solicits a child or someone
the person reasonably believes is a child to engage in sexual conduct with intent to engage in
sexual conduct is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
three years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both.
    Subd. 3. Defenses. Mistake as to age is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
History: 1986 c 445 s 3; 2000 c 311 art 4 s 3,4

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes