Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

The homestead may include any quantity of land not exceeding 160 acres, and not included
in the laid out or platted portion of any city. If the homestead is within the laid out or platted
portion of a city, its area must not exceed one-half of an acre. The value of the homestead
exemption, whether the exemption is claimed jointly or individually, may not exceed $200,000 or,
if the homestead is used primarily for agricultural purposes, $500,000, exclusive of the limitations
set forth in section 510.05.
History: (8337) RL s 3453; 1907 c 335 s 1; 1969 c 414 s 1; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1986 c
398 art 16 s 1; 1993 c 79 s 2

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes