Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Office of the Revisor of Statutes

The following officers have the powers of a notary public within the state:
(1) every member of the legislature, while still a resident in the district from which elected;
but no fee or compensation may be received for exercising these powers. The form of the official
signature in these cases is: "A.B., Representative (or Senator), ....................................... District,
Minnesota, ex officio notary public. My term expires January 1, .......";
(2) the clerks or recorders of towns, and cities;
(3) court commissioners, county recorders, and county auditors, and their several deputies,
and county commissioners, all within their respective counties; and
(4) peace officers licensed under section 626.845 for the purpose of administering oaths upon
information submitted to establish probable cause to any judge or judicial officer under the Rules
of Criminal Procedure. The form of the official signature in these cases is "A.B., Peace Officer
License Number ......., ....... County, Minnesota. My license expires June 30, .......".
History: (6973) RL s 2687; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1983 c 359 s 45; 1985 c
268 s 1; 1995 c 37 s 1; 1998 c 254 art 1 s 107

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes